top of page

John McCreath Award for Coaching Excellence

The John McCreath Award for Coaching Excellence is named in honour of John McCreath (pictured on the right) in recognition of his commitment and dedication to the ideals of fair play and coaching skills in minor hockey. Consistently through his 30 years of volunteer service in minor hockey, John has been a positive role model as a coach, teacher and mentor.

This award is intended to recognize those individuals who, like John, have significantly contributed to the development of young hockey players. It is also to inspire all coaches in minor hockey to achieve and maintain a higher standard.

Any coach registered in the Erindale Hockey Association who has a minimum of five (5) years coaching

experience at any level or series, and meets the following criteria:

  • Dedicated to teaching and nurturing the fundamentals of positive hockey skills and good sportsmanship

  • Consistently demonstrates patience, fairness and positive guidance in teaching hockey players

  • Strives to use innovation and initiative to motivate players and peers to higher achievement

  • Sets a positive example to players, parents and peers through exemplary behaviour

  • Unselfishly volunteers time and effort to the betterment of minor hockey. Recognized by players, parents
    and peers as a person who embodies the qualities and values of what minor hockey tries to achieve

The first recipient of the John McCreath Award was Tim Manning. Tim served as Erindale's president from 1992 - 1996 and made significant contributions that shaped not only our Association but the MHL as a whole. Two of his major achievements were the introduction of the Initiation Program to Erindale and the establishment of a child abuse program at Erindale. We are proud of what Tim accomplished and the MHL and Erindale are proud benefactors of his efforts. Tim coached for six years at Erindale. Many of the parents and players who were members of his team have nothing but the highest praise for our inaugural recipient.


Erindale Coach Award Recipients:

2001 - Tim Manning

2004 - Ron Short

2010 - Jim Thomas, Jeff Davidson, Joe Sousa

2012 - Cary Leon, Bob Robertson

2014 - Rob Heubeck, Dan LeBlanc


bottom of page